Brahmacharini – The Second Durga

Categories : Spirituality

The second phase of Durga is Brahmacharini. I’d like to point out that the different names mentioned are not the names of different deities presiding over the nine days of Navaratra. The nine different names represent the nine different phases of the same power Durga.

While Shailputri stood for the first phase as a child of the Himalayas, the second phase represents the gradually maturing girl who will have to be married to someone. Parvati herself wished to marry Lord Shiva who was a dweller of mountains like her. However, Shiva refused to marry her because he was a hermit.

Following Shiva’s refusal, Parvati embarked on the path of Tapasya (Penance) and remained in that state for an extended period of time. She stopped taking food and water. Her goal was clear. She wanted to see Lord Shiva as her husband. Her indulgence in hard ‘Tapasya’ converted her into Brahmacharini. Seeing her relentless efforts, hardships and a clear focus on success, Lord Brahma blessed her with a boon that she would win the heart of Shiva as well.

The second form of Durga – Brahmacharini is seen having a ‘Japmala’ in her right hand and a ‘Kamandalu’ in the left hand giving a message for effort and determination to achieve stated goals.

Her abode in Kundalini Tantra is in the Svadhishthana Chakra. Brahmacharini signifies being celibate, unmarried, dwelling into divinity and the colour white signifies purity.

Mantra of Brahmacharini:

ॐ देवी ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नम:

Oṃ Devī Brahmacāriṇyai Namaḥ


दधाना करपद्माभ्यामक्षमालाकमण्डलू।

देवी प्रसीदतु मयि ब्रह्मचारिण्यनुत्तमा॥

या देवी सर्वभू‍तेषु माँ ब्रह्मचारिणी रूपेण संस्थिता।

नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमस्तस्यै नमो नमः॥

Dadhana kara Padmabhyam akshamala kamandalu।

Devi prasidathu mayi brahmacharinya-uttama॥

Ya Devi Sarvabhuteshu Maa Brahmacharini Rupena Samsthita।

Namastasyai Namastasyai Namastasyai Namo Namah॥


(Salutations to you) The one who is holding a rosary (Akshamala) and a ritual waterpot (Kamandala) with her lotus-like hands

Devi, be pleased on me, Goddess Brahmacharini, the uncomparable or unparalleled one (as Goddess Brahmacharini did the penance that is unparalleled with any others).